WRDM

RULES AND ORDERS APPLICABLE TO THE WEST RAND DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY

3/1/1/P

RECOMMENDATION THAT

Cognisance be taken of the Rules and Orders of the WRDM applicable to meetings of the Council and its Committees.

WRDM

ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE WEST RAND DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY (WRDM)

3/2/2

In terms of Schedule 3 of the Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act 117 of 1998), the Municipal Manager called for nominations for candidates for the position of Speaker.

Cllr M Nkoe nominated Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu as a candidate for Speaker and the nomination was seconded by Cllr B Mahuma and accepted by Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu.

The Municipal Manager proceeded with the calling for further nominations of candidates for Speaker.

Cllr E Du Plessis nominated Cllr J D W Zwart as a candidate for Speaker. The nomination was seconded by Cllr I E Mukwevho and accepted by Cllr J D W Zwart.

No further nominations were received.

The WRDM proceeded with the voting process by secret ballot as prescribed by Schedule 3 above. Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu was elected with a majority of votes.

The results were as follows:

Votes for Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu	24
Votes for Cllr J D W Zwart	<u>20</u>
Total Votes	<u>44</u>

The Municipal Manager declared Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu duly elected as Speaker of the West Rand District Municipality for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

The Municipal Manager then requested Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu to come forward to take the Chairperson seat.

The newly elected Speaker extended her appreciation for being elected as the Speaker of the WRDM and took the chair to preside over the meeting as Chairperson of the WRDM.

The Speaker welcomed the Executive Mayors, Speakers, Council Whips present and other councillors from the local municipalities that are within the area of jurisdiction of the WRDM.

The Speaker conveyed messages of condolence to all those who lost their loved ones.

A moment of silence was observed in sympathy with the bereaved families.

RESOLVED THAT:

In terms of Schedule 3 of the Municipal Structures Act, 1998, Councillor N Tundzi-Hawu be duly elected as the Speaker of the WRDM for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

WRDM

ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR OF THE WEST RAND DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY (WRDM)

3/2/2

The Speaker called for nominations for candidates for the position of Executive Mayor, in terms of Schedule 3 of the Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act 117 of 1998).

Cllr N Ndzilane nominated Cllr B M Maneli as candidate for Executive Mayor and the nomination was seconded by Cllr H O Butler and accepted by Cllr B M Maneli.

The Speaker proceeded with the calling for further nominations of candidates for Executive Mayor.

Cllr D Cloete nominated Cllr D H Pretorius as candidate for Executive Mayor. The nomination was seconded by Cllr P Orpen-Reid and accepted by Cllr D H Pretorius.

No further nominations were received.

The WRDM proceeded with the voting process by secret ballot as prescribed by Schedule 3 above. Cllr B M Maneli was elected with a majority of votes.

The results were as follows:

Votes for Cllr B M Maneli	24
Votes for Cllr D H Pretorius	<u>20</u>
Total Votes	<u>44</u>

The Speaker declared Cllr B M Maneli duly elected as Executive Mayor of the West Rand District Municipality for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

RESOLVED THAT:

1. Cognisance be taken that the WRDM is, a municipality with a executive mayoral system as described in Section 4(b) of the Gauteng Types of Municipality Act.

2. In terms of Schedule 3 of the Municipal Structures Act, 1998, Councillor B M Maneli be duly elected as the Executive Mayor of the WRDM for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

WRDM

ESTABLISHMENT OF A MAYORAL COMMITTEE

3/1/3/1

RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. Cognisance be of the contents of the report.
- 2. The Executive Mayor will appoint a mayoral committee consisting of a maximum of 8 (eight) members and forward the names to the Municipal Manager at his earliest convenience.

WRDM

DESIGNATION OF FULL TIME COUNCILLORS

3/2/3

RESOLVED THAT:

The WRDM designate the following office bearers as full-time councillors:

Speaker Cllr N Tundzi-Hawu
Executive Mayor Cllr B M Maneli
Single Whip of council
Members of the Mayoral Committee
Chairpersons of Section 79 Committees

WRDM

ELECTION OF A SINGLE WHIP FOR COUNCIL

3/2/2

The Speaker called for nominations for the position as council whip.

Cllr D D Moreotsenye nominated Cllr S P Monoane as a candidate, it was seconded by Cllr B Xulu and accepted by Cllr S P Monoane.

The Speaker proceeded with the calling for further nominations.

Cllr A van Tonder nominated Cllr D Cloete as a candidate, the nomination was seconded by Cllr T Lebe and accepted by Cllr D Cloete.

No further nominations were received.

The WRDM proceeded with the voting process by secret ballot. Cllr S P Monoane was elected with a majority of votes.

The results were as follows:

Votes for Cllr S P Monoane	24
Votes for Cllr D Cloete	<u>20</u>
Total Votes	44

The Speaker declared Cllr S P Monoane duly elected as Single Council Whip of the West Rand District Municipality for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

RESOLVED THAT:

Cognisance be taken that Councillor S P Monoane be duly elected as the Single Whip of the WRDM for the term ending when the next council is declared elected.

WRDM

DATE/FREQUENCY OF FUTURE COUNCIL MEETINGS: 2016 YEAR PROGRAMME

3/1/2/1, 3/1/3/1 & 3/14/1

RESOLVED THAT:

Cognisance be taken of the approved 2016 year programme of the WRDM.