• The home of the Cradle of Human Kind

  • Our district is known for mining

  • Your ideal tourist attraction area

Welcome to West Rand District Municipality

The West Rand District Municipality (WRDM) comprises of three local municipalities, namely Mogale City, Merafong City and Randfontein. The District Management Area (DMA) also falls under the jurisdiction of the WRDM.


Mogale City Local Municipality

Mogale City inherited it’s name from Chief Mogale wa Mogale, the last pre-colonial leader to rule over the region from Hartbeespoort in the North West up to Magaliesburg. 

Merafong City Local Municipality

Merafong’s historical development is closely knit with the discovery of rich gold reefs in the early nineteen thirties.

Rand West City Local Municipality

Rand West City Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Randfontein Local Municipality and Westonaria Local Municipality on 3 August 2016.

WRDM has ZERO TOLERANCE approach to fraud. Call 011 411 5100 to blow the whistle on fraud and corruption.

© Copyright - West Rand District Municipality